Granny’s Fried Chicken

For some reason, autumn – especially October – makes me miss The South even more than I do the rest of the year.

So, here’s some old-fashioned southern fried chicken.

Fried Chicken

fried-chicken

Ingredients:

Chicken, legs, thighs, breasts [1]
Flour
Salt
Pepper
Poultry seasoning
Shortening, butter flavored

Method:

Preheat skillet or fry pan to 350 degrees F (or medium high burner) and melt enough shortening to coat bottom of pan.
Coat chicken with flour and put in hot fat. Cover and cook for about 8 minutes.
Sprinkle salt, pepper, and poultry seasons over chicken
Turn chicken, cook 10 minutes.
Turn heat down to 300 degrees F. (medium low burner).
Turn chicken and cook for 10 minutes on each side.

Remove to plate with paper towel to rest. Serve.

battle-flag-1s

I found this recipe on Facebook at the Granny’s Favourite Cookbook site.

Grannys-Cookbooks-Dee-Schoenmakers(Granny’s Cookbooks – Dee Schoenmaker)

aa-tribalfang______________________________________________________________

[1] What’s wrong with just sayin’ “Whole chicken, cut up”?

4 comments on “Granny’s Fried Chicken

  1. A whole chicken cut up (in the South) contains the neck and back. And I mix salt, pepper and a tiny bit of sugar WITH the flour mixture…no poultry seasoning…and put it into a gallon-sized ziploc bag. Dip the chicken in milk, then put it into the ziploc bag with the flour mixture and shake the dickens out of it to coat it.

    • vampyrefangs says:

      I didn’t know about the neck and back. Thanks for the info about seasoning the flour, Beth. I’m sure I have poultry seasoning in my cupboard somewhere but I don’t know if I’ve ever used it. It’s probably vintage 2003! LOL Love the Ziploc bag method, too.

      And ‘thenk yew’ for your comments all the way from Mount Pisgah in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina! Wish I could be there with you this time of year! *sigh*

  2. Carol says:

    If you salt the chicken AFTER it’s in the pan, the salt will breakdown the shortening. You gotta season the chicken then flour/coat/flour again (for extra crispy!) or mix it in the flour.

    • vampyrefangs says:

      Another big ‘thenk yew!’ for your comments to Carol in the scenic port city of Wilmington, NC. Also did not know about the salt-shortening breakdown factor.

      Clearly, I need to get down to NC ASAP for a southern fried chicken remedial class. I think about 7 or 8 years should do it. I am, after all, a Northerner (as opposed to a ‘Yankee’, G-d forbid!) What do you think? 😉 I promise to make you my ‘completely not famous’ Black Eyed Peas recipe for New Years if you take me to the Glatt Kosher India Mahal (is that place even still open??)!

Leave a Reply

