Creepy Girls (14): Yo-Landi Vi$$er of Die Antwoord

Wow…

The lovely and talented writer/photographer Meghan C, knowing I have a penchant for weird things, sent me this text message the other day…

“If you want weird music check out die antwoord”

I immediately skipped on over to YouTube, typed in “Die Antwoord’ [1]… and clicked the song “I FINK U FREEKY.”

This is what came up…

The ‘you gotta see her to believe her’  Yo-Landi Vi$$er projects exactly the Creepy Girl feel I’ve been trying to capture in this series.

All I can say is… WOW!!

aa-tribalfang

____________________________________________________________

[1] Die Antwoord (Afrikaans for “The Answer”) is a South African raprave group whose style draws from the Zef counter-culture movement. Its lead vocalists are Ninja and Yo-Landi Vi$$er.

5 comments on “Creepy Girls (14): Yo-Landi Vi$$er of Die Antwoord

  1. ukzombiekiller says:

    Wow indeed. Loved the video

  2. as a south african she’s not really cool to me, as i like my creepy girls exotic (Morticia, or Wednesday), not the inbred girl next door that wasn’t fed properly or who’s mother drank/shot heroin while she was pregnant. I guess she reminds me too much of things I know and despise to think she’s all that. She is disturbing though, and Ninja is really quite a well mannered young man who wrote rap songs about not eating meat and keeping quite in the movies as it is inconsiderate (as max normal). They just hit on this “zef” thing to glorify something that has crept up on our society… tacky is cool, retro old things are fashionable, being common is cool… I don’t get it. I think it is clever marketing though, shocking too.

  3. Sara says:

    Holy shiz nuggets! Now THAT is weird…and freaky. And yet, I can’t help but love it.
    I fink it’s freeky and I like it, I like!

Leave a Reply

