Creepy Girls (3): The ‘Cousin It’ Effect

It is a not-uncommon effect used in horror movies and photos of a macabre nature.

A girl with her face completely covered by her hair.

(The ghost of Samara Morgan – The Ring)

The most famous example is probably Samara’s ghost in the 2002 movie The Ring (based on the 1998 Japanese horror movie, Ringu).

(The ghost of Sadako Yamamura – Ringu)

It isn’t complicated. It requires no special effects or computer graphics.

A girl standing still, arms down at her sides, head slightly bowed forward, her face completely covered by long hair.

And yet each time I see that image, I get the chills.

Even when I remind myself of silly Cousin It from The Addams Family, it doesn’t help dispel that deeply disquieting sensation I experience each time I see it.

So here’s to you, creepy ‘Cousin It’ girls!

Long may you continue to inspire goosebumps in all of us!

3 comments on “Creepy Girls (3): The ‘Cousin It’ Effect

  1. Jazz says:

    Damn, that is creepy, but for the life of me I can’t figure out why I think it is…

    • vampyrefangs says:

      That’s what makes it so creepy. There’s nothing wrong other than the fact that the hair covers the face. And yet for some reason, the old ‘creepy flag’ goes way up. All we should be thinking is, “that’s unusual” but instead, the goosebumps run rampant. I love it!

  2. Sara says:

    I think it’s creepy because you know they can see you and are staring right at you, yet you can’t see their face or eyes at all. Its just…creepy.

Leave a Reply

