Unattended Children

It bothers me when I see unattended children.

Maybe because it is so rare these days. It seems that when I was a mere tot I was left to run amok completely unattended. Entire weekends were spent with adults having only the vaguest idea where I was.

I somehow made it home for lunch.  I learned to come home when the street lights came on.  Other than that, my friends and I roamed around town like feral cats and dogs.

It wasn’t really all that unusual ‘way back when.’

Now? A whole different playground, folks.

We seem to have been lured into this mindset that the world is programmed to hurt, maim and kill children if they are not supervised every single minute of the day.

No one seemed to worry when yours truly played with mercury or lawn darts… a toy that appeared to be specially designed for killing children.

Amazingly enough, the Lawn Darts packages actually contains this warning:

WARNING: Lawn Darts can be dangerous and may cause serious of fatal injury. Read instructions carefully. Keep away from children

Often times, this sense of being bothered by unattended children quickly turns into annoyance.

Maybe it’s a feeling of “if the parents don’t worry about their offspring, why the heck should I?”

I’ve begun to notice signs in commercial establishments that echo this feeling of mine.

I admire the tactic. Threaten to make the insufferable little beasts even more of a nightmare than they are already!

I don’t know if it works but I have to tell you, I admire the effort.

Well done, folks! 🙂

aa-tribalfang

3 comments on “Unattended Children

  1. Jazz says:

    I too was left to roam around as a youngster. However when we were out in public with the parents I knew damn well to behave.

    Maybe we behaved because</b< most of the time we were let loose to wander and explore our world.

    • vampyrefangs says:

      Excellent observation. Never thought of it like that. I behaved in public because if I didn’t, the consequences were dire. 🙂

  2. Flyfisherjo says:

    I used to live in a city with 5 (count ’em) 5! penitentiaries. After living in Toronto where we had to account for every minute of a child’s whereabouts in school and where parents practically strapped webcams to their children, I was bowled over with how many children were left to roam in this city. We started an informal lawn daycare (they were never allowed in our house) just so WE knew they were safe even though the parents showed no interest. We even bought a big wading pool to help entertain them.
    Sometimes it’s parents allowing children to explore their world, sometimes it’s parent not giving two bits. That place was not caring two bits. We just hoped as we moved away 2 years later that pedophiles never learned about that neighbourhood. It would be way too easy pickings.

Leave a Reply

