A Rooster In My Neighbourhood (WTF??)

OK… you need a bit of background here…

I’m kind of an ‘early to bed, early to rise’ type of person.

As a general rule, I’m pretty much conking out by 11:00 pm unless there is a really good reason for me to be up (e.g. downloading and watching the latest episode of Game of Thrones)!

Sadly, I also tend to get up fairly early… and by fairly early, I mean before 6:00 a.m. The alarm on my clock radio is set for 6:00 am and it is pretty rare that it wakes me up.

(Niagara Winter Sunrise – Photo Credit: Doug Hagadorn)

It would be nice for me to sleep in now and again. I just don’t get a chance to do so. Either I have to be up because I’ve got to be somewhere, or I just naturally get up because, well… that’s when I wake up.

So you can imagine that on those mornings when I can sleep in, it is a ‘few and far between’ treat for me.

This morning was one such occasion. It is Victoria Day (aka Firecracker Day) in my particular corner of The Great White North. No work. Nowhere to go. Nothing to do. Up fairly late last night enjoying the latest episode of Game of Thrones.

In my nice huge (king size) bed, sawing wood, blowing some big league Zs, all is right with the world.

And the world, being what it is… there are seasonal changes in sunrise times. At this particular time of year, the sun rises at about 5:50 am or thereabouts and will continue to do so, progressively earlier each morning, until mid-June. No problem. Shades are drawn, door is closed. Hoping to wake up maybe around 8:00 or even 8:30 if I am really lucky.

Nature had other plans for me this morning.

I’m sure it hit my subconscious before I opened my eyes, so it was probably the second blast that woke me up.

I just lay there for a moment, puzzled. ‘That sounded just like a rooster,’ I thought to myself.

Well, they say that three’s a charm. I needed no further confirmation after that one.

There’s a rooster in my neighbourhood somewhere.

Judge my chagrin.

While I may not have a lot of hard empirical evidence at my fingertips to support me, I am fairly certain that just about everyone who’s ever moved to a city has done so in order to avoid being woken up by a rooster.

I looked at my clock radio. 5:25 a.m.

The pre-dawn concerto was in full swing about half an hour later. That was when I got out of bed.

Curse you, Rooster. Curse your cold black cock-a-doodle-doo heart!

aa-tribalfang

12 comments on “A Rooster In My Neighbourhood (WTF??)

  1. Flyfisherjo says:

    This is just one of the reasons why I, a former small flock farmer of chickens, do not believe backyard chickens within city limits is a good idea. Even hens can make one hell of a lot of noise when they are laying that is loud as crowing. There is no reason for someone to have a rooster unless they are planning to breed which definitely should not be part of a backyard flock scheme. I have other reasons why chickens don’t belong in a city. Even if I had a house with a big backyard, I wouldn’t have them in a city but idiots who think they know everything will bring them in. Poor chickens. Poor neighbours.

    • vampyrefangs says:

      Chickens and, in fact, most barnyard fowl are prone to disease. I was once told that if you look at a goose the wrong way, it will drop dead of some disease. Still… I can get used to just about anything, so I suppose rooster crowing should be the least of my worries! 🙂

      • Flyfisherjo says:

        My concern lies more with the chickens. They need to have proper shelter from the heat of summer and the cold of winter and predators. TO have a backyard flock means you are asking racoons and, if they are near your neighbourhood anyway (and they are in Toronto) foxes and coyotes into your yard as well.
        If people don’t take proper care of their chickens, who will take them? Humane societies are not set up for them and farmers will not take fowl from other yards because of the spread of disease. It isn’t even the potential disease among the fowl so much as the potential of disease spread to humans. Avian Flu is the least of it, there is a common but very harmful lung disease that comes from exposure to the dust of chicken feather/manure, especially as it comes in contact with human food. Plus what do you do with all that manure? It doesn’t break down all that fast but it has to compost before you can put it on a garden. Again, the smell will attract predators and other unwanted pests.
        I love fresh eggs and miss producing my own but still believe firmly chickens have no place in the city unless closely regulated and we just don’t have the money/manpower to do that. So, for the sake of the innocent chickens, leave them on the farm and support local farmers who raise them free-range and deliver them to you instead.

        • vampyrefangs says:

          Well said, Jo!

          • Elaine Anderson says:

            In Cuba, we weren’t exactly in a tourist area. I swear the roosters crowed all day and all night. And every rooftop had a barking dog. Day before yesterday we had a robin singing most of the night.

          • vampyrefangs says:

            Robins singing at night? Clearly a sign of The Upcoming Zombie Apocalypse!

  2. Flyfisherjo says:

    Maybe there was a predator after its nest… otherwise be on the lookout for zombies.

  3. The way to avoid being awakened by backyard fowl is to be like me. Take out the hearing aid… 😉

  4. Jazz says:

    It’s at moments like those, that coq au vin seems like a wonderful breakfast idea.

  5. vampyrefangs says:

    Mmmm… Yummy!

Leave a Reply

