Creepy Girls (1): The Girl on the Stair

I stumbled upon this Motifake poster on Facebook the other day.

The poem on which the poster is based is entitled Antigonish. [1] It was written in 1889 by American educator and poet Hughes Mearns.

Yesterday, upon the stair
I met a man who wasn’t there
He wasn’t there again today
I wish, I wish he’d go away

When I came home last night at three
The man was waiting there for me
But when I looked around the hall
I couldn’t see him there at all

Go away, go away, don’t you come back any more
Go away, go away, and please don’t slam the door

Last night I saw upon the stair
A little man who wasn’t there
He wasn’t there again today
Oh, how I wish he’d go away

The poem was considered amusing by most people and in fact was turned into a very popular song in 1939.

(Glenn Miller, Tex Beneke – The Little Man Who Wasn’t There)

A 12 July 1939 recording of the song by the Glenn Miller Orchestra with vocals by Tex Beneke became an 11-week hit on Your Hit Parade reaching #7.

Ironically, even though the Motifake poster is also made at least half in jest, I presume… it brings you closer to the feeling of the original poem. The poster reminded me of two powerful images in my mind, both from horror movies.

The first is from the 1973 horror classic, The Exorcist.

(The Exorcist – A girl upon the stair)

The other is from The Grudge, the 2004 American remake of the Japanese film Ju-on: The Grudge .

(A Japanese girl on the stair – The Grudge)

The image in the Motifake poster, is, I believe, from either The Grudge or Ju-on.

Many people claim to have psychic abilities and are able to sense or see ghosts, wraith, phantasms, etc.

I, on the other hand, am a total ‘dead receptacle’ when it comes to that kind of thing.

If, however, I ever ‘met a girl upon the stair’ as I walked up to my apartment, I think I would fill my pants, as it were.

And that is why I love the Motifake poster. It’s creepy. It scares me. And I get to experience that horror and fear without actually having some creepy girl infesting my staircase.

And when it comes right down to it, what could be better than that?

aa-tribalfang

____________________________________________________________

[1] The poem was inspired by reports of a ghost of a man roaming the stairs of a haunted house in Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada.

This is the first in a series of “Creepy Girls” articles.

Leave a Reply

