True Blood: Why I Love Pam

Pam De Beaufort!

What a delicious part!!

The writers of the HBO television show True Blood really outdo themselves when it comes to providing dialogue for Pam, masterfully played by Kristin Bauer.

Here’s a bit of background on the character Pam for those who are not familiar with the program.

A former prostitute during her lifetime, Pam was ‘brought over’ (i.e. made a vampyre) by Eric Northman in the late 1800’s in San Francisco. She was released from Eric sometime in the early decades of 20th century. She has resided in the USA throughout her time as a vampyre. After the Great Revelation when vampyres came ‘out of the coffin,’ Eric called for Pam’s service in the newly founded Fangtasia bar in Shreveport, Louisiana.

Nowadays she serves him willfully and is his second-in-command. She has never , to date, sired a vampyre.*

Here are some of the precious gems that True Blood’s writers have fall from her beautiful, smirking lips.

“I don’t know what it is about me that makes people think I want to hear their problems. Maybe I smile too much. Maybe I wear too much pink. But please remember I can rip your throat out if I need to. And also know that I am not a hooker. That was a long, long time ago.”

“I am so over Sookie and her precious fairy vagina and her unbelievably stupid name. F**k Sookie!”

“I’m gonna shove my fist up your ass and use you as a hand-warmer.”

“Did I miss something? Are we girls now? Did we join a book club and read some queer chick lit memoirs and are bound together by estrogen or sisterhood some other feminist drivel?”

“This is not just about your relationship, you infatuated tween. There’s a bigger picture.”


“Let’s go to the ladies room and stare at ourselves in the mirror.”

Each year, her character becomes stronger, more fleshed out and more interesting… and a lot more fun!

Can’t wait for True Blood Season Five, expected to premiere in June 2012.

___________________________________________________________________________

* Later in the series, she sires Tara.

Leave a Reply

