Game of Thrones (Review)

The other day, on the recommendation of my dear friend, DD (a former museum curator, history buff and general all ’round font of information about things medieval), I purchased the DVD box set of HBO’s Game of Thrones, Season One.

It stars Sean Bean in medieval costume. I didn’t need much convincing. [1]

(Game of Thrones: You Lose… You Die!)

One thing I have to say right at the start is that Game of Thrones is visually stunning. Sets, costumes, lighting, props, cinematography, effects… everything about the look and feel of this production is absolute perfection.

The visuals are matched by the casting, script, acting and direction.

I have to admit that stories involving royal intrigue, crafty aristocratic schemes and political plotting often leave me confused. I don’t like being baffled by movies or television shows. It took me a while before I had a firm grip on who was who, which ‘house’ was which and how everything fit together in this fictional, mythical world. But before long, I had a fairly good mental map of the Game of Thrones world… much like I have in my mind a good map of Middle Earth… and the major family and political groups that inhabit it.

It would be far too complicated to get into the machinations of which royal house was fighting and plotting against which other royal house.

Suffice it to say that it is a whole lot of fun to watch. Lots of swordplay, duplicitous plots within plots and an army of delicious characters… some you love, some you hate and some you just love to hate.

Watch it. Love it. Live it!

____________________________________________________________

[1] Sean Bean played Boromir in Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring, as well as Ulrich in Black Death.

Leave a Reply

