12 Hour Stomach Bug (Yeuch!)

Well, my little geeks and nerdlings, it is the time of year when the stomach bug [1] spreads like jam on toast and your friendly neighbourhood Vampyre Fangs is no exception, I am afraid to say.

It is said that no good deed goes unpunished. Well, no sooner had the Stealth Hasid ran all the good deed errands on the mitzvah list, than the Dreaded Illness struck.

(No, not THAT kind of stomach bug!)

I must say, I was feeling pretty chipper when the Jewish Sabbath arrived. I attended services at a tiny synagogue in The Baycrest Terrace retirement home in The Heart of the Old World, ran into several old acquaintances and colleagues, walked over to the home of my generous and hospitable hosts and sat down to a wonderful Shabbes dinner with beloved friends. The atmosphere was warm and convivial, the conversation sparkling, the mood both spiritual and festive.

Halfway through a fabulous meal, I could not escape the feeling that something was amiss. A few minutes later, there was no mistaking the warning signs. Not wanting to spoil the evening for the other guests, I excused myself and made my way to the downstairs bathroom. I arrived in the nick of time.

I will spare you all the ghastly details. Suffice it to say that I felt like a frog losing its lunch. [2]

Once I composed myself, I returned to dinner. Fortunately for me, with all the Sabbath songs being sung round the table, no one heard me downstairs. Phew! Needless to say, I experienced a certain loss of appetite.

(I’m sorry, but this girl looks good even when sick!)

About ten minutes later, a return visit downstairs was needed. I tried to get there as speedily as possible. As close as my timing was on the last visit, this one was even closer.

I did feel a bit better afterwards. I returned once again to the dining room, enjoyed the company and the conversation and, in time, bade my farewells to the hosts and fellow guests. On the walk back to Château Burke (the spacious manse at which I stay when I am in Toronto), I felt quite good. I went to bed, confident that the worst had passed and that the unpleasantness was over.

My confidence was misplaced. Twice more throughout the night, I skipped to the loo, my darlings. A most disagreeable night, indeed.

I had originally hoped to attend a bar mitzvah Saturday morning. That was now more or less out of the question. Although I felt much better (by comparison), I was still a teeny bit queasy and felt it would be best if I just lay in bed for the morning, hoping for the best. I was out like a light until about 1:00 pm.

(Sorry. She still looks good!)

I woke up a new person. It was as if nothing had occurred the night before. Albeit tired and a bit sore (my stomach muscled ached from all the exercise they’d recently been put through), I felt great.

I wasn’t going to take any chances. At lunch, all I had was a small bowl of soup and some ginger ale. So far, so good. By evening, I was 120% my old self!

The next day (Sunday), I once again limited my food intake to soup. Through an abundance of caution, I did not go to a dear friend’s birthday party that afternoon. Sorry, MP. 😦

This morning (Monday), I awoke bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, fit as a fiddle and ready to fly. Still playing things cautiously, I will not immediately tuck into the hearty repasts. Steady as she goes, Sulu!

I am nothing if not a Fraidy Cat.

____________________________________________________________

[1] Stomach bug: aka Stomach Flu, aka Gastroenteritis.

[2] A frog has the ability to empty the contents of its stomach by everting its stomach all the way up to and even out of its mouth. As gross as this is to imagine (or watch), you’ve not lived until you’ve experienced it yourself!

2 comments on “12 Hour Stomach Bug (Yeuch!)

  1. wartica says:

    I know what that’s like; stomach viruses are never fun but I hope you feel better soon:) Great post and I look forward to sharing more 🙂

Leave a Reply

