Nazi Zombies: The Return of a Living Dead Phenomenon

The other day, my friendly neighbourhood blog administrator, WordPress, emailed me a summary of the hits and other stats concerning my little corner of the blogosphere.

What struck me the most was how many people in 2011 responded to those two deathless words…

NAZI ZOMBIES!

Now, I know why I adore the image of Nazi Zombies.

OK, maybe I don’t. But what I understand even less is why thousands of other allegedly normal people seem to share my bizarre fascination.

Part of it has to do with the movie, Dead Snow. But I’m not sure how many people have actually seen that 2009 Norwegian classic. I loved it. It was so over-the-top. I shared my thoughts of this film in my September 22, 2011, movie review Dead Snow (Død snø): Nazi zombies! What more could you ask?

Believe it or not, there are other Nazi Zombie movies. [1]

I suspect it has more to do with the Call of Duty: World at War computer game. Non-Wii versions feature the minigame Nazi Zombies which basically consists of 1-4 players fighting an unlimited number of waves of… Nazi Zombies. What could be more fun than that?

But whatever the reason, swarming legions of rotting WW2 era zombies in early-30s full-dress SS uniforms will continue to captivate movie-goers, cult-film buffs, gamers and blog readers.

(I can’t explain it)

As a dear friend once said, “Sometimes, a thing is just too weird NOT to get involved with!”

Viel Spaß!

______________________________________________________

[1]  The Top Five Nazi Zombie Movies are listed over at ZombieCommand.com. Definitely worth a look if, like me (and apparently thousands of others), you have a bizarre interest in Third Reich zombies.

3 comments on “Nazi Zombies: The Return of a Living Dead Phenomenon

  1. Sharon says:

    Wow, there were a bunch of zombies in Toronto on the streetcar around Halloween too! Weird.

Leave a comment