Halloween (and Why I Love It!)

Yes, guys and ghouls… It’s time for…

Halloween!!

(Is this a cool pumpkin, or what??)

I love Halloween. Ever since I was a little kid. Always have. Always will.

I’ve often said that, inside my mind, it’s a cross between The Nightmare Before Xmas…

(The Nightmare Before Christmas)

…and Corpse Bride.

(Corpse Bride)

As normal (or abnormal) as I may appear in real life, upstairs between the ears, my outlook on life… the way I view the world… is most definitely directed by Tim Burton!

To a large extent, this Tim Burton/Halloween theme extents into my day-to-day life. For instance, while most people go absolutely dippy at the thought of warm sunshiny days… I cringe. I literally hate the feel of sunshine on my skin. My idea of a perfect day is, well, today… cool, overcast, dark, damp, dreary, miserable, gloomy. In other words, perfect!

(A simply lovely day for a stroll!)

I’ve long since outgrown my desire for candy. I don’t have a sweet tooth. A tub of Häagen-Dazs can stay in my freezer for weeks and I won’t have the slightest desire to touch it. So, for me, Halloween isn’t about sweets. Nor is it about the wiccany-pagany-religiony aspects of it. I’m an Orthodox Jew and, to me, that is simply not in the cards either on a philosophical or spiritual basis.

For me, it is about getting in touch with The Dark Side not in terms of evil but in terms of attitude and outlook.

(Right look… the psycho aspect could use a bit of tweaking, however)

While I myself was never a goth, I think the old school Goth Girls had the right look and the right attitude. Modern goth girls… well, I’m not so sure. They all seem like depressing wannabees. They lack the intellectual mind and the dark macabre soul of the old Goth Girls from the very late 70’s and early 80’s.

Being ‘Dark’ isn’t about what you wear on the outside… it is about who you are on the inside.

For example, I would love to live in Halloween Town. And I would give almost anything to be a member of the Addams Family. I want to live in a world where I am not viewed as a freak for wanting it to be grey and dreary every single day of the year. I want to live in a world that is eternally overcast and cool and dismal, where weird is normal and vice versa. This is why I love Halloween. It is the one day of the year when the outside world… the ‘real’ world… matches the world inside my head.

(What you call ‘creepy’… I call ‘home’)

So, here’s to you, Halloween. I may not go out trick or treating. I may not festoon my apartment with pumpkins and ghosts. But I can do most people one better…

…To me, EVERY DAY is Halloween!

5 comments on “Halloween (and Why I Love It!)

  1. ninevehrains says:

    “It is the one day of the year when the outside world… the ‘real’ world… matches the world inside my head.”

    So odd that you enjoy the dark and dreary so much, since you seem like such a cheery guy. But this is the same reason I love going to conventions – because I can be anybody and still fit in. It’s the “normies” who are freaks at such events.

    • vampyrefangs says:

      I am cheerful, really. I’ve never seen the conflict between dark and happy. I never associated grey with miserable. I use words like ‘miserable, grey, dreary’, etc. because these are the words that ‘normal’ people use to describe what I love. Like I said under the last photo in this article… “What you (i.e. ‘normals’) call ‘creepy’… I call ‘home’!” Just because ‘they’ think it’s creepy, doesn’t mean I do. When things are dark, overcast, damp, gloomy, dismal… like they are today… I am the happiest person in the world. I wish it would never stop. And when it is sunny and warm (or worse, hot) and everyone is skipping around strewing roses from their hats, I couldn’t me more miserable.

      Think of the Addams Family. One of the things I loved about them was that they were always happy and content being exactly who they were. I’ve never been to a convention like Comic-Com or even the Toronto equivalent which is held the weekend before Labour Day. Rue Morgue magazine puts on their ‘Festival of Fear’ event as part of the over-all convention. I keep promising myself that next year for sure I will go. Maybe next year I’ll actually go! LOL

  2. Flyfisherjo says:

    As a Celt, Hallowe’en (All Hallow’s Eve) is actually the night before Sawain (Sow-an), the first day of the new year in the Celtic calendar. That’s where all the delicious “creepy” stuff came from. The Celts believed that night was the one night of the year that the separation between this world and the after-life opened up and those who had passed on plus other mythicial-type creatures could come through to our world, kidnap people and take them back. Most wisely stayed inside with carved turnips (pumpkins are a North American plant) in grotesque faces with candles inside them placed in the windows to scare off bad spirits. If you had to go outside to tend to your animals in the barn or some other such emergency, you dressed as a spirit to fool the real ones.

    Strangely enough, while these habits became the basic stuff of Hallowe’en night in North America trick or treating, that never caught on in Ireland or the UK. Probably because it was seen as such a dangerous night to be out, you wouldn’t go out for a lark. Old cultural habits die hard! 🙂

    New Agers have tried to add more but. really, there is little to go on since it was an oral tradition. The above is pretty much what is truly known.

    I think the world being run by a Tim Burton-like being makes perfect sense (and explains alot).

    • vampyrefangs says:

      Hi Jo!! Thanks for the cultural context. All I get these days seems to come from the neo-pagan Wiccany-religiony types. I never know how much of that is real and how much is wishful thinking mixed with BS. I myself don’t celebrate (if that is the right word) Halloween, of course, but I have a real affinity for a lot of the ‘feel’ of the holiday. More of an aesthetic and maybe a philosophical connection for me than anything else, I suppose. I don’t know a lot about the Mexican Day of the Dead celebrations. I wonder how similar (or not) they are to Halloween. I’ve always felt more at home with settings and looks that most people call ‘creepy’ or ‘scary.’

      I had a friend who lived in a house in the middle of a cemetery. I was extremely envious, of course! Cemeteries here are ‘nice’ and not scary at all. Check out some of the graveyards in Europe. It’s like they are trying to scare the heck out of you! LOL

  3. flyfisherjo says:

    The Celts believe that when you die you sail west to another land that is just as real as thisnworld. On the shore, ready to greet you, will be those you loved who went before you. The life here is so “real” that if you die owing money you will still have to pay it back when the other person gets to the after life! The dying process is called Tiem Sall or the Crossing Over.
    When I worked with kids with CF, many had no belief system from their families but wanted to know what would happen when they died. Sadly, their families (out of guilt) would usually not be there for them at the end stage. I would tell them the Celtic tale as a offering for something to consider about the dying process. They really liked it. Most had sailed at summer camp and loved it and the idea of going to a land where all their friends and family members who had already gone would be waiting for them brought them such comfort, that they accepted the story. I remember we even drew a picture of it, kids in a boat heading to a shore with loved ones on it. It was pretty amazing/powerful.
    I am very protective of it because of New Agers and how they desicrate belief systems but I will let you know.
    Enjoy the spookiness of Halloween this weekend! I’ll be writing progress reports. Phhhhht! 😉

Leave a Reply

