Rosh Hashana: A New Beginning

Well boys and girls, geeks and nerdlings…

It’s time for this vampyre-lover and zombie-slayer to pack up the old gear and head on up to Toronto for Rosh Hashana (the Jewish new year) and the beginning of the High Holidays, or as I like to call them, the HiHos. [1]

It’s a time for me to get together with dear friends and loved ones. It is also an opportunity for some soul-searching and introspection. Going to my tiny little hole-in-the-wall shtiebel [2], studying, praying, discussing, arguing… that’s how I get my spiritual batteries recharged.

(‘Yiyei Or!’ ~ Let There Be Light!)

The plan is for me to go offline for Total Jew Lock Down today (Wednesday September 28, 2011) and resurface some time Monday (October 3, 2011).

See you in a few days!

________________________________________________________________

[1] For more on me and the Hi-Hos, read my recent blog on the subject.

[2] A shtiebel (Yiddish: שטיבל, meaning “little house” or “little room”) is a little hole-in-the-wall place where Orthodox Jews, often comprised partially or entirely of hasidim, come to pray and study. Instead of a large imposing edifice, it is often a storefront (like Bais Dov Yosef Congregation or the Ger Shtiebel where I go when I am in Toronto) or a just a room somewhere (e.g. in a hotel basement, like the Chabad shtiebel in Niagara Falls where I go when I am at home).

Leave a Reply

