I Finally Broke Down and Bought the Twilight Movie(s)

Yes. I did it, OK? I finally did it. I broke down and bought the Twilight movie DVD.

Not only Twilight but also The Twilight Saga: New Moon…

and, yes… I admit it… The Twilight Saga: Eclipse.

I hang my head in shame.

By way of explanation, let me just say that three things converged to make this unlikely event happen. Firstly, the first installment of the two-part The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn is scheduled for theatrical release on November 18, 2011. Secondly, the three DVDs were in the ‘two-for-$10 bin’ at the grocery store. [1] And thirdly, like going in for oral surgery, I’d put it off long enough.

And yet… I feel so cheap.

So here they sit, on the bottom of the computer table, staring at me. I know that eventually, I’m going to have to crack open the cellophane and toss the disc into the ol’ computer. But not yet. Not so soon after I bought the damned things. I will not be so weak. I will not be so easily beaten by the power of The Dark Side.

But I feel myself weakening. I feel my fingers wanting to reach out… wanting to touch them… wanting to… open them!

It is at my weakest of moments, when I am in the depths of despair, when I feel I can resist no longer that I hear a voice like the greatest of my people’s prophets of old, urging me to ‘be strong and of good courage.’ [2]

“A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of woes and shattered shields, when the age of men comes crashing down! But it is not this day! This day we fight!” [3]

I know it is only a matter of time. A day or so. A week, perhaps. I know that while I may win this battle and perhaps the next and even the next, ultimately I will lose this war.

And so they sit… patiently… waiting for my courage to fail… waiting for my hour of woe…

________________________________________________________________

[1] The other DVD I bought to round out the 2 for $10 purchase was Machete (to be reviewed in a future article!)

[2] Moses (Deuteronomy 31:6; 31:7; and 31:23); and Joshua (Joshua 1:6; 1:9; 1:18; and 10:25).

[3] Aragorn at the Black Gates, The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King.

2 comments on “I Finally Broke Down and Bought the Twilight Movie(s)

  1. Flyfisherjo says:

    Best watch them now, before Yom Kippur, then you can atone for such a deed!

    • vampyrefangs says:

      I have much to feel guilty about! I shall have to remember this particular grievous offence during the Al-Chet prayers! 😉

Leave a Reply

