Sucker Punch: My Upcoming Zombie Apocalypse Army!

I fell in love with the “look” of Sucker Punch the moment I saw the trailer.

When the movie was released in theatres, I was surprised at some of the negative reviews it received. How can a movie that looks so cool be that bad? When it was released on DVD, I ran out to buy a copy.

OK. It’s not a great movie in terms of script or plotline or dialogue or all the other things that get film critics excited. The acting is OK. Sucker Punch may very well deserve all the smart catty remarks made at its expense.

But the look… the feel of Sucker Punch grabbed me by the throat and never let go.

The sets, costumes, lighting, cinematography, special effects… they all hit me right where I live.

I wanted to be in those fantasy scenes so badly. I wanted to fight WW1 German soldiers. I wanted to hack my way through a train car full of robots. I wanted to shoot a .50 calibre machine gun from the helicopter door!

What is it about hot sexy young women kicking ass that’s so appealing? Kate Beckinsale in Underworld. Uma Thurman, Lucy Liu and Daryl Hannah in Kill Bill and Kill Bill 2.

A lot has to do with the costumes. They have to have a perfect blend of feminine sexy and deadly tough. And let’s not forget the hair and make-up! These movie macho girls never muss their hair or smudge their make-up, unless of course it is for dramatic effect… to make them look even sexier or deadlier.

When there’s no more room in Hell and the dead walk the earth, these are the women I want at my side, bullets flying and blades slashing.

The girls in Sucker Punch are my idea of the ultimate kick-ass fighting unit for The Upcoming Zombie Apocalypse Army!

The living dead won’t know what hit ’em!

8 comments on “Sucker Punch: My Upcoming Zombie Apocalypse Army!

  1. renxkyoko says:

    No way ! It’s a zombie movie? I happen to like zombie movies. One of the best ones that I’ve seen so far was 28 days later. This is the first movie where zombies can actually outrun living people. It used to be people can run around them, maybe spit at them even. LOL

  2. vampyrefangs says:

    renxkyoko: Oh, no no no! It’s not a zombie movie. Sorry if I gave that impression. I’m just sayin’… when The Upcoming Zombie Apocalypse DOES happen… these are the kind of girls I want with me to battle the living dead! And I LOVE ’28 Days Later’. Did you see the sequel, ’28 Weeks Later’? You gotta check it out!

  3. renxkyoko says:

    Hahah Of course I saw it! Tho definitely the first one is so much better. The girl, the daughter, was really annoying and she was the cause of all that havoc. I don’t remember if she died tho… she should have died! That’s why I didn’t like the movie much…. things happened because of one girl’s stupidity…. oh, just like that Living Dead movie… the girl with the dog, you know? Stupid girl…. I hate plots like that.

  4. vampyrefangs says:

    Yeah, there always seems to be that one character who is so annoying and who keeps getting everyone else in trouble. In the remake of Dawn of the Dead, I remember this lawyer guy who was SO irritating. I loved it when he turned into a zombie and the lead girl blew his head off! 🙂

    Of course, one of the many great things about Zombieland is that you got two knuckleheads for the price of one! I love you Tallahassee and Columbus. If I had to pick two guys to be with when The Upcoming Zombie Apocalypse hits the fan, it would be you two!

  5. renxkyoko says:

    Ha Ha I know, right?

    Oh, I saw this zombie movie where the main character was played by this guy from Social Network? I’m sure you’ve seen that movie? Ugh, I’ve forgotten the title.

    Zombie movies peaked maybe 2 or 3 years ago, but there’s barely any zombie showing now. I love The Resident Evil series! I wonder if there’s going to be a 4th one.

  6. vampyrefangs says:

    That’s ZOMBIELAND! Jesse Eisenberg, the guy who played Mark Zuckerberg in ‘Social Network’ also played Columbus in Zombieland! Woody Harrelson played Tallahassee. Those are my two zombie-killin’ buds! 🙂 I also love the Resident Evil series. I hope they never stop making sequels to that movie series! Milla Jovovich rocks!

  7. Night-Gaunt says:

    The one thing I would change was their costumes. Cover up that skin! Wear body armor. Helmets and vizors. Expose skin just gets you cut or bitten then infection. Less sexy more survival. but also the fanboys won’t like it—they like more skin, of the women, but not the men as usual.

    I like all the Resident Evil films. I don’t care if the critics like them or not. Far better than most of the run-of-the-mill zombie pictures. The game is even better!!! Better living through viral gene therapy!

  8. vampyrefangs says:

    Armour may be practical but then again, in the context of the film, those scenes were fantasies. And yes, there is the fan boy angle, for sure. Body armour = practical. Skimpy Sailor Moon outfits, black leather and fishnets = fan boy fantasy fun. Even when the outfits are arguably functional (Selene in Underworld) they still have to look sexy. It’s part of the appeal. I wouldn’t change a thing!

    I like the Resident Evil movies too but I also like ‘fun’ zombie movies like ‘Shawn of the Dead’ and ‘Zombieland.’

Leave a Reply

