The Addams Family: Fully Functional

They were so happy, the Addams Family. I think that was what really attracted me most to them.

Despite their outer ‘freakishness’, they were perfectly happy with who they were. Everyone knew who he or she was and what was expected of them. And each member of the family seemed totally content with that.

The old black and white television episodes, the modern television remakes and the movies all capture that ‘functional family’ quality about them. Gomez was the adoring husband and the doting father. Morticia was the loving wife and mother. Uncle Fester and Grandmama, the beloved and supportive relatives. Even the children, Wednesday and Pugsley, despite their occasional bickering and sibling rivalry, wouldn’t dream of having it any other way.

When I grew older and saw how many ‘normal’ families functioned… or didn’t… my mind always harkened back to the simple carefree joy that the Addamses seemed to carry off so effortlessly.

When I was young, I desperately wanted to be a member of The Addams Family. Even as I got older, I guess I never lost that ‘Addams Envy’.

A part of me still wants to live happily ever after in a decrepit old mansion-house surrounded by creepy and spooky relatives, having the time of my life and never wanting anything to change, ever.

One keeps hearing about dysfunctional families. No one ever talks about a functional family.

I would like to propose that, for many of us, the Addams Family WAS and IS the fully functional family.

Ils sont merveilleux! (Tish! You spoke French!!)

One comment on “The Addams Family: Fully Functional

  1. bunnynoah says:

    “A part of me still wants to live happily ever after in a decrepit old mansion-house surrounded by creepy and spooky relatives, having the time of my life and never wanting anything to change, ever.”
    Moi aussi, mon cher. Moi aussi!
    You totally got this one. Everyone of them was an unique individual and treated as such, yet still loved and cherished by all. Something we all yearn for in our lives.
    😀

Leave a Reply

