Dracula (1992) movie [Francis Ford Coppola]

The other night, I watched the DVD of Francis Ford Coppola’s ‘Dracula’ (1992). It was, I believe, originally released as ‘Bram Stoker’s Dracula.’

I’d seen it ages ago and almost forgotten how much I liked it. Some of the performances leave a bit to be desired but Gary Oldman is a treat in the title role. Whether as a fierce warrior defeating (and impaling) the Turks in the mid-1400s,

or an apparently old 18th century Count in a crumbling Transylvanian castle in the late 1800s,

or a young aristocratic foreigner in Victorian London,

Oldman is a joy to watch. I find it difficult to take my eyes off of him no matter who else is in the scene. Add to this the wonderful look and feel of the sets, costumes, make-up and cinematography and it allows you to overlook some of the other performances in the movie. (Note: Tom Waits as Renfield is simply delicious! He makes you almost feel those bugs cracking and popping in his mouth. Delightfully icky!)

Other Draculas have captured my imagination. Max Schreck’s Count Orlok in the silent film Nosferatu (a brilliant yet shameless Dracula rip-off by German director F.W. Murnau), Bela Lugosi (of course), Christopher Lee, Frank Langella, Klaus Kinski.

Even Richard Roxburgh [1]  in the fairly bad movie ‘Van Helsing’.

(And no, he is not doing the ‘pull my finger’ routine!)

But Oldman’s performance holds a special place in my cold, dark heart.

In short, a delightful time was had by yours truly, curled up with a plate (or two) of spaghettini, watching Francis Ford Coppola’s Oscar-winning [2] production of Bram Stoker’s Dracula.

For those who’ve seen it, watch it again. For those who haven’t… for shame! Get it NOW! You won’t regret it.

Three out of four vampyre bites.  Two severed thumbs, way up!

_____________________________________________________________

[1] I’m sorry but when the werewolf Velkan says to Dracula, “I would rather die than help you!”, I simply adore the way Dracula replies, “Oh, don’t be boring. Everyone who said that died!” In fact, I like it so much, I have adopted that phrase (and Roxburgh’s pronunciation) into my own ‘stock phrase repertoire’!

[2] Winner of three 1992 Academy Awards. Best Costume Design, Best Make-up and Best Sound Effects Editing. Surprised that Keanu Reeves and Winona Ryder didn’t get Best Supporting Actor and Actress  Oscars? Yeah, well… so were they! 😉

2 comments on “Dracula (1992) movie [Francis Ford Coppola]

  1. bunnynoah says:

    Must…watch…this…movie…again…..!!

  2. vampyrefangs says:

    bunnynoah: As Dracula says when he first sees Mina in the street in London, “See me!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

